Before you request to have your name removed from something, consider if it's actually necessary or if it might just cause more problems for you.
Your name will likely still appear on it in other places.
If you're shooting for anonymity, you're not going to get much of it by just slicing your name out of the page. You need to keep in mind that everything you post on the Internet is permanent, with your name permanently attached to it. Removing it in one place might help your situation, but it certainly doesn't make it impossible to track down who originally wrote it:
- Our content gets cached by a great many sources, including web scrapers. Two large sources would include Google and the Wayback Machine. These sources will still have cached copies of the page as it existed with your name attached to the content.
- We publish data dumps of all the visible content on our sites. This is historical content and we cannot modify previous data dumps to also remove your name in those places because we no longer have control of them once they are published.
- Some users will just remember who originally posted something, and we can't prevent them sharing that information with others.
- You will still appear as the owner of the post in the Data Explorer until it gets updated again at the end of the week.
Additionally, if you participate in the post later, your name will show up on all future participation.
The system will no longer treat you as the author of the post.
If you proceed with a dissociation request, the fact that you're the author will not only be removed from the public display, but also from the internal system records. This means that all reputation you gained/lost from the post (including bounties) will be reversed and the events no longer visible in your reputation log, and future votes and bounty awards on the post will no longer earn you any reputation. Additionally, badges you earned from the post may be revoked.
In addition to reputation and badge earnings, you will lose all author-specific privileges on the post. More specifically, this will have the following effects later:
You will no longer receive notifications on the post, to notify you of new answers, comments, edits, reopenings, etc.
Edits you make to the post will no longer be binding if you don't have the edit privilege. They will be submitted as suggested edits which will have to be reviewed by others, and drastic changes to the post will likely end up rejected.
You will no longer have binding suggested edit review powers on the post. If you don't have the edit privilege, you cannot review these edits. If you do, your review will be treated as a "third-party" review and at least one other user may be required to agree with your review (as usual).
If you don't have the flagging or comment privileges, you cannot flag your post or answers to or comments on it, and you cannot comment on the post or answers to it.
If you don't have the view close votes privilege, you cannot view close votes on your post or vote it for closure or reopening unless you have full closing privileges. You will also not be able to see information in close notices that is only shown to the author (e.g. specific close reasons, approve it as a duplicate, etc.).
Don't abuse the service.
You should be willing to stand by all content you contribute to our network. If we notice a specific user continually requesting their name be removed from posts, that is a strong signal that you are not willing to contribute to this community in an effective and meaningful way and you may find yourself suspended from the site. We are not a platform for you to post or say whatever you want and then turn around to have your name removed from it.
Can I just have the content deleted?
No. Stack Exchange is a collective work to which you have granted an irrevocable license to display, use, and modify your work (i.e., the post). You do not have the right to have it removed from our site.
So how do I remove my name from a post?
If you would like to have your name dissociated from one of your posts, you can request we do so by clicking on the Contact link at the bottom of the respective page. Your username will no longer be linked and will be shown as "anon" on the post, as well as any comments on it, the parent question (if it's an answer), or any (other) answers, and on self-answers (if it's a question).