Skip to main content

The process by which high-reputation users and moderators can vote to delete a post from the site.

Voting to delete posts is an option available to high-reputation users.

At 10,000 reputation, users gain access to moderator tools which allow them to cast delete votes on questions which have been closed for at least two days.

As 20,000 reputation, a user becomes a trusted user allowing them to cast delete votes on questions immediately after closure, as well as casting delete votes on answers which have a negative score.

Once a certain threshold of delete votes is reached, the post in question is automatically deleted.

See also: How does deleting work? What can cause a post to be deleted, and what does that actually mean? What are the criteria for deletion?