-12

I am wondering if badges on question reviews are the cause of the huge closed votes queue. Shouldn't this be discussed or tested to see if the CV queue can be reduced eliminating some of the relevant badges?

On the other hands, I have seen several posts and opinions on Meta pointing to the opposite cause (too many badges) as reason for the increasing of the queue.
Too many Edit List of question proposing badges not really appreciated by the community

3
  • 1
    I don't see why the existence of the badges should grow the CV queue. Flag queue during winterfest, yes; but the CV queue would be if anything helped by more attention via badges. Most CV queue elements exist because one person casts a CV on a question in a low-activity tag and too few other people read that tag to see it.
    – Joe
    Feb 21, 2014 at 20:08
  • The result is interesting. I have seen many question collecting minus because of proposed new badges for moderation. But looks like also the opposite is not appreciated.
    – FeliceM
    Feb 21, 2014 at 20:09
  • 3
    Minus here is basically just 'disagreement', I wouldn't say 'unappreciated'. Ideas on both sides dealing with the topic are likely to end up net minus - the reason we have a problem is, in large part, because it's not easy to solve, and the odds are most relatively simple solutions have been considered already.
    – Joe
    Feb 21, 2014 at 20:10

1 Answer 1

9

The badges don't really have any effect on the size of the queue. Some people think that more badges would cause users to participate more in the queue (and thus help reduce its size), but that would only be a temporary fix if it worked at all.

The badges more affect the quality of the reviews in the queues - the claim is that people who care about the review don't so much care about the badges, and people who care about the badges don't so much care about the review. The claim has for the most part held true. We see a lot of very crappy reviews from people who are just flying through them for the gold badge.

6
  • So, with your last sentence you basically agree with me in some way.
    – FeliceM
    Feb 21, 2014 at 20:14
  • 7
    I'm trying to get you to realize that the badges only indirectly affect the size, and the size definitely is not our concern with the badges. The review quality is much more important. More badges will lower our review quality, which is already lower than desired from the current badges. Adding more makes no sense.
    – animuson StaffMod
    Feb 21, 2014 at 20:16
  • I agree this is why in my post I said that they should be less.
    – FeliceM
    Feb 21, 2014 at 20:18
  • 1
    That's not at all clear in your question. You seem to want to discuss if badges affect the size of the queue. I say they barely do - they more affect the quality.
    – animuson StaffMod
    Feb 21, 2014 at 20:20
  • @animuson ♦ "The badges don't really have any effect on the size of the queue" Are you serious? So, If SO not offered a badge for - lets say - how many post you have edited, it would be the same? Like "Strunk and White"? Try to explain, why and how the 120k close-vote hump on SO not have a correlation to badges. I can only speak for myself. After being degraded, scorned and mocked here on meta, I have no lust what so ever to handle close votes ever more. I reached the Staward badge, 1000 edits, and was willing to go for nothing - but your answers here on meta made me to loose my interest. If y Feb 21, 2014 at 22:07
  • Look, @david: if you start calling folks "fascists" because they disagree with you, you're gonna have to get used to your comments being deleted. This sort of childish behavior is not tolerated here.
    – Shog9
    Feb 21, 2014 at 22:08

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .