There's a site called Array Overflow at https://arrayoverflow.com. Is it legit? Its Facebook Page says nothing about the operator of the web site, and at the bottom of the site it just says (C) Array Overflow.

  • 9
    I don't see it in the list of SE sites, so it's not a SE site. – cigien Apr 7 at 23:47
  • 14
    Of course it’s not affiliated with Stack Exchange. They use PHP. They also use quite bad grammar and spelling in their About us page. – Sebastian Simon Apr 7 at 23:57
  • 6
    Just another failed attempt to copy Stack Overflow. The site is essentially dead, About Me written with broken English, and all in all it's obvious it's not a professional website. Looks like private project of someone with spare time. Bottom line: nothing to worry about. – Shadow The Vaccinated Wizard Apr 8 at 7:56
  • 1
    Also Stack Exchange wouldn't make two sites about programming. – Anonymous Apr 9 at 0:01

No, this is not a Stack Exchange site. You can find almost all sites here. There are a few more "secret" ones. But this isn't one of them.

Besides that there is only a limited set of domains used by Stack Exchange. Most sites are hosted as subdomains of stackexchange.com. Exceptions are the original trilogy sites: StackOverflow.com, SuperUser.com and ServerFault.com. Besides those three there are MathOverflow.net and AskUbuntu.com and the special case of Stackapps.com

As far as the questions go, I googled some of them, and none appear to be copied from Stack Overflow, or any other SE site. They do however show some strong resemblance to other sites, but that is not something Stack Exchange has any business with.

They however certainly do their best to look like an Stack Exchange site, and hope to profit of the Stack Exchange / Stack Overflow name I guess. If you for example look at the tabs on your browser they bear a lot of resemblance: enter image description here

Another tell-tale sign is the footer of a site. The Stack Exchange network uses the same footer on all sites: enter image description here

While the footer of Array Overflow looks like this: enter image description here

  • 7
    Isn’t the list of StackExchange sites of kind of useless to verify if it is real or not when the list only lists „almost all“, because you will always have to ask yourself is it missing in the list because it is fake or secret or other reason? – Rand Random Apr 8 at 7:55
  • 5
    “Secret” sites?! do tell! – Dean Ward Apr 8 at 8:59
  • 5
    @DeanWard CS50 for example. – Luuklag Apr 8 at 9:07
  • 2
    @Luuklag Good call, yup, sites still in beta aren’t listed on se.com – Dean Ward Apr 8 at 9:09
  • 1
    And I have strong evidence there are some that are only available to staff members @DeanWard ;) – Luuklag Apr 8 at 9:10
  • 1
    @DeanWard you mean private beta? – Shadow The Vaccinated Wizard Apr 8 at 9:28
  • 3
    @Luuklag not sure what that "strong evidence" is, but as a member of staff I can categorically say I don't have access to any "secret" network sites :). We do have private and public betas that won't be listed on se.com, but that's the only network sites that aren't publicly listed (although they're generally on Area51). All our current beta sites are sub domains of stackexchange.com so the list of public network sites is a definitive list of anything that we own that hosts a Q&A site. – Dean Ward Apr 8 at 9:56
  • 1
    @DeanWard dev.stackexchange.com is one of those I guess – Luuklag Apr 8 at 10:16
  • 2
    That’s not a production environment, I don’t know many companies that grant public access to their dev environments :) – Dean Ward Apr 8 at 10:43
  • 3
    @RandRandom yes, our domains are all registered with the legal entity so a whois is definitely the best way to know for sure – Dean Ward Apr 8 at 12:18
  • 3
    @DeanWard you might want to update the WhoIs for mathoverflow then ;) It is all in the name of Domains By Proxy, LLC – Luuklag Apr 8 at 12:23
  • 3
    So there is no 100% fool-proof method @DeanWard ;) – Luuklag Apr 8 at 12:27
  • 2
    @Dean totally odd, why is that? Any idea? Or maybe better start new question about it? (Mathoverflow domain not owned by SE) – Shadow The Vaccinated Wizard Apr 8 at 13:33
  • 3
    @ShadowTheVaccinatedWizard there's a little bit on the wikipedia page but tl;dr: it used to be an SE 1.0 site (a predecessor to our Enterprise product) and got migrated into the network when that product went away - we didn't have Enterprise at that time. I don't know the full background but that's the gist of it – Dean Ward Apr 8 at 13:36
  • 3
    The mathoverflow.net domain is not owned by SE, but by MathOverflow. This was one of the conditions of the agreement under which MathOverflow joined the SE network. See meta.mathoverflow.net/questions/4429/…. – Emil Jeřábek Apr 9 at 16:16

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .