19

I can see my deleted answers. Will they ever be purged from the system, either manually or automatically? Does this kind of "deleted post cleanup" occur periodically, or will all deleted answers typically remain in the system until the end of time?

marked as duplicate by Werner, Nathan Tuggy, Ward, ale, Infinite Recursion May 12 '16 at 5:52

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • You might want to support Answers quickly deleted by owner should be permanently deleted. – Arjan Sep 30 '11 at 16:46
  • @Arjan did that already. But just wanted to know if questions are even deleted permanently ever. – Muhammad Hasan Khan Sep 30 '11 at 16:48
  • 1
    @hammar no I'm not asking whether I can do it. I'm asking whether they are ever deleted or not by someone else without me requesting to. – Muhammad Hasan Khan Sep 30 '11 at 16:49
  • Nope, they'll remain in the system till the end of time. – NullUserException อ_อ Sep 30 '11 at 16:53
  • Any particular reason why you want to know? Lasse's answer covers the question itself. – agf Sep 30 '11 at 16:53
26

At the moment, content posted on Stack Overflow is never deleted, except if you plead to The Team and have them exercise their SQL magic directly on the databases.

Not only can you see your own deleted posts, but all 10K+ rep users can see them as well.

So no, they're not automatically deleted in any way or at any time.

  • 3
    As an aside: not sure if that needs plain SQL magic; it seems the developers have magic buttons on these sites! – Arjan Sep 30 '11 at 17:49
  • 3
    As an aside: there's also auto-removal of negatively voted unanswered old questions after 30 days, and auto-removal of old unanswered zero score questions with very few views, after a year. I assume these are soft-deleted too, but maybe these are deleted permanently? – Arjan Sep 30 '11 at 17:53
  • 3
    Thats just sad. – Muhammad Hasan Khan Oct 1 '11 at 10:15
  • 1
    Sha Dow Wiz Ard just confirmed that auto-removals are soft-deletions too. – Arjan Jun 10 '12 at 12:19
  • 1
    This is against the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) rules! I'm not a lawyer, but this means that this interface is illegal to be use as much as I understand. – Ronen Ariely Jul 12 '18 at 7:54
  • No, GDPR is intended to protect people. When you contribute content to these sites you are giving these sites the right to that content. You can, however, be asked to be disassociated with the content, in which case your personal information will be removed. – Lasse Vågsæther Karlsen Jul 12 '18 at 9:04
  • @Ronen Ariely uhm, GDPR only applies to personal information, which means that the law is absolutely not applicable on SE! Yep, the only thing they really have to delete as far as I understand it (and I had 2 1,5-hour lectures about it) is the email address in your account if you delete it – Hobbamok Sep 14 '18 at 9:31
  • True but not accurate @Hobbamok . How come it can be true but not accurate?!? Well it is true as general sentence but not being able to delete your messages means that you cannot delete it if you mistakenly add personal information. – Ronen Ariely Sep 14 '18 at 13:19

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .