4

The process of deleting a site profile is explained in Help Center and elsewhere. But I don't see any instructions for requesting the deletion of one's chat profile. (Why delete it? To disassociate self from chat content, for example. The chat profile may contain information that identifies the author.)

Should such requests be communicated to a moderator via a flag, or sent to the Team using contact us form, or ...?

The answer might be different in two scenarios:

  1. There is still a site profile to which the chat profile is attached (the "parent" of chat profile).
  2. The parent no longer exists (for example, SO profile was deleted but chat.SO account still exists).
13

As of today, chat accounts will be removed when the last qualifying main-site account is removed. Henceforth,

  • deleting your Stack Overflow account will delete your associated chat account on chat.stackoverflow.com
  • deleting your Meta Stack Exchange account will delete your associated chat account on chat.meta.stackexchange.com
  • deleting all of your site accounts will delete your chat.stackexchange.com account

Note that merging doesn't do any of this. Thus, merging accounts where the account being merged from has an associated chat profile will very likely leave things in a bit of a weird state.

So for merge cases, deletion of only chat profiles, all account deletions prior to August 16th of 2016, and all other activities that caused chat account weirdness... you'll have to contact us if you want something done. The link at the bottom of every page should suffice; just select "other".

  • This doesn't clearly answer number 1 in the question: if one wants to delete a chat profile while keeping their site profiles intact. Yes, the answer is still to contact SE, but your answer as written doesn't make this clear. – Sonic the Inclusive Hedgehog Feb 24 '18 at 13:02
  • Last paragraph, @Ano - everything else requires manual intervention (and for non-trivial amounts of participation, high probability of needing dev approval). I'll edit to be more explicit. – Shog9 Feb 24 '18 at 23:13
  • Does this automatic removal remove all of the user's posts from all time in chat? – Catija Mar 1 '18 at 0:39
  • Their messages are anonymized first, @Catija. Then the user is deleted, but the messages remain. – Shog9 Mar 1 '18 at 0:47
  • Which is different than destroying a chat account, which actually deletes all of the messages? – Catija Mar 1 '18 at 0:48
  • Right, @catija. It's like anonymizing and then destroying. – Shog9 Mar 1 '18 at 0:49
  • @JourneymanGeek Per a staff member's comment, chat profiles aren't automatically deleted if they've posted more than 1,000 messages. Also see Shog's first comment above. – Sonic the Inclusive Hedgehog Dec 6 '18 at 0:51
  • I don't see a precise number. citation needed. I don't really think the comment is definitive – Journeyman Geek Dec 6 '18 at 0:58
  • @JourneymanGeek The comment I linked (written by animuson) specifically states 1,000. – Sonic the Inclusive Hedgehog Dec 6 '18 at 1:06
  • completely different author, going off memory. I think its better to leave it as a comment – Journeyman Geek Dec 6 '18 at 1:09

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .