10

I have a profile picture set on site A, and a different profile picture on site B. Site A is my default parent site, so it's the one that should show in all chat windows. However the image seemingly randomly changes to that of site B when I click "automatically move comments to chat" on a particular answer's comment thread. The only thing I can tell about that comment thread is that someone else already tried to move comments to chat, but deleted that comment. When I click it, a new comment doesn't appear with a link to the chat, but my profile picture changes for all chat sites I am on, and all the chat windows reload. I can consistently reproduce this by trying to move comments to chat on this answer.

The interesting thing is that my parent site still shows as site A when I look at my user settings, but what is displayed is that of site B. I have to switch my default parent site away and back to fix this.

For me, site A is Information Security and site B is Cryptography.


Update: It just happened (on the Cryptography site) when I tried to automatically move comments to chat, but at this time, the new comment with the chat link did appear, so my above hypothesis regarding there already being a deleted chat comment is likely incorrect.

5

Encountered this bug yesterday. It not only changes the profile picture but also the display name, in case you use different user names on site A and site B, and create a chat room from a comment thread in site B (using the "automatically move comments to chat"). In fact, even the room's name ("Discussion between X and Y") is copied over from site B rather than the chat parent (site A).

I initially wondered whether it was an intentional change, as users on site B might be knowing me only by my site B name, so it doesn't make sense to create a room using my site A name. But no, this one is rather annoying, mainly because it immediately changes the chat display name globally and not just in the "Discussion between X and Y" room. Also, it turns out that when the chat profile is refreshed the name and profile picture are again reset from the chat parent. So the change is only temporary, although the room's name is permanent unless you change it manually.

Anyway, either SE needs to make this a permanent per-room feature (i.e. the site B name should be visible only when chatting in rooms generated from comment threads on site B) or not bother doing this at all. Applying the change globally doesn't make sense.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .