3

From the FAQ here:

Illuminator

  • gold; awarded once
  • Edit 500 questions each within 12 hours of answering it (score>0).

But from the go-to help center:

Edit and answer 500 questions (both actions within 12 hours, answer score > 0).

The wording suggests that the order doesn't matter (I certainly thought so), but the order as it turns out, matters. Since it is the last badge I'm yet to earn on Aviation, I've noticed the counter does not always count when an edit + answer are within 12 hours.

After checking SEDE against my answers where I edited the question, the total sum on SEDE matches the counter (so the query is correct), but those where I edited first are not counted and do not show on SEDE.

This causes confusion, e.g. Illuminator Badge Requirements

So, my suggested wording:

Answer then edit 500 questions (editing within 12 hours after answering; answer score > 0).

Or, if this behavior was not intended (i.e. either action can come first, i.e. ), then the counter needs fixing please.

5

The wording suggests that the order doesn't matter (I certainly thought so), but the order as it turns out, matters.

The order does not matter, not for the badge counter and not for the SEDE query (it has an abs on the last line). Of course, if your edit is more than twelve hours before the answer, then it does not count. And tag-only edits to the question don't count either. Incidentally, the moment of the upvotes to your answer don't matter.

but those where I edited first are not counted and do not show on SEDE.

I am curious for some examples of this. E.g. here you only edited the tags (and your answer is from Sunday evening, after the last SEDE refresh).

5
  • tag-only edits to the question don't count – maybe this is it? If yes, IMO it needs clarification.
    – ymb1
    Nov 2 at 13:31
  • 1
    @ymb1 it's in the FAQ "Only body and title edits on the question count, tag-only edits do not." and tag-only edits don't count as real edits in a couple of other places.
    – Glorfindel Mod
    Nov 2 at 13:33
  • Oh! Additional criteria. I thought that was the next badge and didn't read after the two bullet points. My bad!
    – ymb1
    Nov 2 at 13:35
  • RE I am curious for some examples – I don't see that one on SEDE; I'm confused what's the issue with that one since it's tag-only edit?
    – ymb1
    Nov 2 at 14:06
  • 1
    I meant if you have any examples of edit-then-answer you think should count (but you don't see in the SEDE query).
    – Glorfindel Mod
    Nov 2 at 14:21

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .